Try harder or let it go?

It is said that one of the hardest parts is to decide whether one should try harder or just walk away and let it go. I think that most of the time the line between them is very thin. Which side of that thin line we choose is made up of our attitude and perspective on life. Here is where change has a big role to play.

Most of the time we are so afraid of changes. We’re afraid to step out of our comfort zone, whether it’s about a change in our relationship, professional life. It scares us, we get emotional, melancholic, excited at times, but mostly we get a feeling of insecureness.

Our degree of acceptance is also very important when it comes to changes. The ability to accept they way things are and make the best of them. Unfortunately we can’t control everything that’s happening to us, but we can control how we deal with what life’s putting us up to.  I’ve read somewhere that life isn’t fair or unfair, life just is. That’s something I haven’t thought about.  Reading that line I remembered a moment from my childhood, not a very happy one. I think I was 6 years old, it was Christmas and I still believed in Santa Claus.  You know parents keep telling their kids to behave all year long in order for Santa Claus to bring nice presents. I tried to behave as much as I could, even more than my best friend from back then. On Christmas morning I get my presents but when I go over to my friend’s house she has more presents and nicer toys. Of course I started crying because I couldn’t understand why Santa have her more toys since she didn’t behave as well as I did. It wasn’t fair, because that’s how I thought things work. That’s when my parents decided to tell me that there’s no Santa Claus.

I’m not saying that we should stop doing good things or stop being nice to people just because life isn’t fair anyway. But we also shouldn’t do nice things just to get something back. That’s when most of the time we’ll feel how unfair this life is.

We have to figure out the perfect dance steps of this life we’re living, the dance steps of try harder and let it go.

77540_441418169249651_927838321_o 195121_421696367888498_627166666_o 475451_335864839804985_283766718348131_955010_1723983323_o 616575_410254849032650_1605579687_o

2 thoughts on “Try harder or let it go?

Leave a Reply

