Night lights

I’ve been playing with long exposure shots in the last couple of nights. It takes some practice, good timing and a very good spot to take the shots. I went out of Timisoara, near a bridge and played around a little.

Take a look at my outcome:

 

IMG_9887 watermark small

 

This is the best photograph so far (30sec, f/9, iso 1600). The moon was somewhere behind me and almost full, so it wasn’t a complete dark night. Still I got some stars on my photo and some car trails. I was pretty satisfied with this one.

 

IMG_9876 copy watermark + quote

 

This photo was taken at the same place as the one above, but turned in the opposite direction (20sec, f/18, iso 800). As you can see I tried out different settings to achieve something interesting.

 

IMG_9899 watermark small

 

This photo was taken in Mehala area of Timisoara, it was quit late (around 12 am) so there was little traffic to capture, but I like how the city lights shine.  Stars of the city 🙂  (6sec, f/18, iso 200)

 

IMG_0286 copy watermark small

 

My last attempt, two nights ago, was a total failure (8sec, f/20, iso 100).  I actually wanted to capture a beautifully lit up church and some traffic lights in front of it. Instead, I got this. A lot of fog and there was no way the lights from the church could have been visible in my photos. So I turned my back to the church and took a couple of shots to the passing by cars. Not satisfied at all.

Tonight we have a full moon, so the nights that follow will be all covered in darkness. Hopefully I’ll get much better results.

8 thoughts on “Night lights

Leave a Reply

