Early Snowdrops

The weather is definitely going crazy. And I do believe it’s the effect of global warming. January is almost over and where I live in Romania, we had no snow this winter. We had at the end of November some snowfall, but it was too warm and it melted away the next day. So that doesn’t count. Right now there are around 10 degrees Celsius outside and it’s not normal. We can see snowdrops blooming in people’s gardens. I remember Β when I was little, I used the see snowdrops in my grandmother’s garden in March, when the snow would melt.

For the last two weeks I saw people selling snowdrops at the market, on the streets. I also saw a few near the block of flats where I live so I photographed them.

For me snowdrops are the first sign of Spring. They are a symbol of winter coming to an end. I will have to give up to that meaning. What I most fear, is that February and March might be extremely cold, since until now it’s been unusually warm. Β I truly hope to be wrong, otherwise, if he trees freeze we will have no fruits in summer and autumn.

Enough talking about fears and cold, take a look at this beautiful and enchanting flowers πŸ™‚

20140118-123654.jpg

20140118-123722.jpg

14 thoughts on “Early Snowdrops

  1. I agree with you Klaudia, climate change is already with us and like you we have had a very warm winter with no frosts or ice which means the plants are already starting to grow and the birds are behaving like it’s spring, which is ok as long as it doesn’t suddenly get very cold in March as you say πŸ™‚ Those are beautiful photos πŸ™‚

  2. They are beautiful flowers Klaudia, great shots, just the wrong time of year. I think we might have got the snow in New York that you should have got. I agree there is definitely something going wrong with the weather and it is due to climate change (global warming). Great post πŸ˜€

  3. Amazing to see those so early! It was very warm also here until a week ago and now we have normal winter weather (-20C). Hope those flowers will make it if a cold wave might reach you.

Leave a Reply

